Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
picking resident state
So... I'm currently a Missouri resident (for another month at least). For tax purposes, I'm hoping to only declare Missouri as my state of residence for this year. I pay personal property taxes on home and vehicle here. 

I'm moving to Louisiana, won't be buying a home, but will be buying an RV soon as possible. I will be traveling as soon as possible, but Louisiana will be home base unless my Mom's miracle is answered and they sell their house (they are mid-70s).

I'm debating trying to become a Texas resident instead, BUT by the time I pay for something like Escapes, their mail service, and having mail forwarded--how much am I really saving?

My main concern (I think) is state income taxes on my retirement.

It will be much easier to establish residency in Louisiana, but at the same time, I'd like to avoid using my parent's mailing address as much as possible. I got a P.O. box nearby but I know that won't work for establishing residency.

Thoughts? Comments?
YARC 1 Stinkin' Badge
ROOIRIA

(Retired, House Almost Sold, RV is next on the list!)
As far as Louisiana goes, you might want to check out what it is going to cost you to buy (taxes) and register a vehicle.

You can have a mailing address that is different than your "resident" address.

Texas doesn't have personal property (vehicle) taxes, just registration and inspections. Thought about North Dakota?
Brian

2000 Roadtrek 200 Versatile "The Beast" (it has been tamed hopefully)  I feed it and it doesn't bite me.   Angel
(08-15-2019, 09:55 AM)B and C Wrote: Thought about North Dakota?

Yes and no? As a possibility in the future, but not right away. I was looking at Texas because it seemed easier... ?