Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Blanch Blanchard and her Travel CLog
Captain's log?

Star date 20180716

My RV journey started June 30,2016. I was going to write up a two year blurb but depression hit, the truck broke down, the new fridge stopped working, and it never happened. I am a couple weeks late but here goes: 

I sold the house and bought a new travel trailer with the proceeds, it is a 2016 Springdale and at 30 feet it is a comfortable beast . I also purchased a 2008 Ford F-250 Super Duty 4X4 that I am making payments on. When I purchased the TT it was online and through phone negotiations. The SRP was $27,000 and I got it for one penny short of $20,000. I was pretty shocked when I saw the size of the trailer, 30 feet didn't seem that long until I saw it hitched up. Yikes! Did I mention that I have no towing experience? So the dealer hitches up my truck and trailer and drives it off the lot and tells me good luck. I found an empty parking lot and practiced towing before I hit the highway. Once on the highway I towed it from Medford Oregon to Crescent City California, through the Redwoods and HWY 199, and stopped at an RV park for a month. While there a couple who were fulltime RVers befriended me and taught me the ways of their people.

My second month in Bodhi died. She was the pack leader of myself and my three dogs, I most certainly was not in charge of that crew. Bodhi had a severe heart condition and her death was not unexpected. As a puppy the vet said I'd be lucky if she lived to be one or two. She was six. Now, with Bodhi gone, the other two dogs allowed me to be the pack leader, or at least they let me believe it is true. The other crew members are Sequoia, a doxiepoo with anxiety and barking issues, but I love him. Also there is Nibbanna, who is a five pound teacup poodle,  and clearly no one has told her she is tiny,,,, she also seems to seek out naked men for me to meet, but that is another story for another day.